Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-02-02 - 11:31 a.m.

So sorry it's taken me this long to update, but life's been hectic!

Last time I wrote I was in the middle of spending a month with Greg, had just finished university without a degree and was working part time at the airport as a programmer.

Greg
Things with Greg are still amazing. We celebrated my Birthday together and he got on with all my friends. After the month together it was hard to say goodbye but he really can't stay with me when my parents are around because they feel rather uncomfortable with a stranger in the house all day. We spent a few days after Christmas together and visited his grandparents in Germany. Greg gave me a Skiholiday for Christmas as I've never been and we're happily planning away. Last weekend he took me to Vienna (and paid everything as I am rather broke). It was freezing but magical with all the majestic buildings in the snow. I'm very happy

Job
The airport created a 100% position as a programmer because it was clear that I wouldn't want to continue programming part time after the end of my studies. Sadly they then found someone better qualified and told me I had to leave by the 30th of Nov!
I spent December on the Dole. The unemployment agency requires you to apply for at least 15 jobs a month but I applied for way more. I also got in touch with a few job agencies.
I ended up being offered a part time temp job as an IT Allrounder starting January.
The company is in construction and their Application Manager was leaving at the end of January. Because they hadn't found a suitable replacement they needed someone to do the minor tasks so that the boss could take over the major ones until the found someone suitable. The job was to be 60% with a wage of 25.-/h, it would be limited to 3-6 Months.
When I went for the interview I mentioned that I'd prefer a 100% job. They seemed interested and asked what wages I'd ask for of a permanent job.
The day after the interview they called and offered me the job - 100% and with 36.-/h wages. I accepted and started work on December 30th.

I was also offered a job starting April as a .NET programmer at a leading university. Before I could accept the place I was temping for offered me the job as Application Manager full time.

It took me a while to come to a conclusion but I accepted the job as Application Manager and officially started as a full time employee yesterday.

I like the job, the team and the company and although it's a hell of a lot to learn and it's taxing to be so busy it's really what I want to be doing.
I can bring in my own ideas, I manage projects and I still get to program. It's also fairly close to home (closer than the other place by far) and so there's no need to move out.

I'll try to update more regularly,

hugs and sorry again

previous - next

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!